Because we are getting wiser everyday; part 2 of 4: Drop Bad Relationships

time2Note: I came across an article titled “The Biggest Wastes of Time We Regret When We Get Older” that I thought was important to share. It offers wise thoughts and suggestions, no matter how old or experienced you are; so much so, that I decided to make it the cornerstone of my next 4 blog posts. I hope you gain some of my additional insight, augmenting this article. 

The second one is about eliminating relationships that were not meant to be (although they seemed that way at first!). From the article’s intro (and my added thoughts on each section):

We spend a lot of energy looking for shortcuts to save time, and sure, those shortcuts add up. But when I look back, my biggest time regrets aren’t spending too much time on Twitter or mismanaging my daily tasks. Those are bad habits, but there are bigger, more systematic time wasters that have really gotten in the way. Fixing these will free up a massive amount of time and energy.

Drop Bad Relationships

Correctly the author of the article points out that we spend too much energy and time trying to resuscitate relationships that were doomed to start with. Now don’t get me wrong, I am all for trying to make relationships bear fruit (hence the name of my company connect2collaborate!).

But some decisions that seemed good end up being poor. No one can see the future.

And as I said here before your network is your net worth. Thinking of your financial portfolio, if you can dump a bad investment, you do.

So it is with LinkedIn (with instructions on all three options):

  • you can downgrade a connection to “follow” instead (read about this alternative here)
  • or you can drop the connection (and no message is sent out to the “dropee” to announce this, so no worries!)
  • or in really dire cases, you can report that person (and this is fortunately rare but sometimes needed as an option)

Do not discount the time-suck and the effect on your reputation of being seen in the company of incorrect people. Take this right seriously and act professionally.

You are in charge of your relationships. Spend your LinkedIn energy and time positively.

Be a good connection and ensure they are good back to you. 

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

