Existential #LinkedIn

card catalogThat title sounds deep, huh? True story:

I called a nearby town’s public library asking them to set aside a book I wanted that my own library did not carry. In small states such as mine, libraries in adjacent towns cooperate and cross-lend to patrons with a valid card. You just have to cross-register the card, library to library, on a case-by-case basis.

The librarian was pleasant and perky.

“Yes, we have the book. Happy to hold it for you, out-of-towner. Your name?”

She paused.

“Hmmm. You are not in our database. In an Sartrian context, you do not exist.”

Librarian joke?

Harking back to Miss Pilkington’s Humanities elective in my senior year of high school, I got the joke. I laughed out loud. I complimented her literary reference. She set aside the book. Mission accomplished with existential humor added.

My message? If you are not on LinkedIn, you do not exist in today’s business world.

Oddly, I still meet people from time to time who do not exist (on LinkedIn).

My goal: urge them to add themselves to the reference library of business professionals on the global card catalog that is LinkedIn. And help make them a best seller. And a literary classic.

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

