PSA on the demise of LinkedIn’s Tags and Notes functions, among others

Much to my dismay, as I use these parts of LinkedIn a lot, LinkedIn has decided to  eliminate the Tags and Notes that you can maintain on your connections, soon. For example Notes and Tags I maintain on one of my connections:

notestagsWhy? I am not sure.

I sure know I like to use them and my clients, once tipped off that this actually exists, have reported that they like them too.

But LinkedIn in its wisdom is taking them away. From an email I received (and you probably did too):

At LinkedIn, we’re always looking for ways to simplify and improve your experience – helping you be more productive and successful. This sometimes means removing features that aren’t heavily used by most of our members to invest in others that members tell us offer greater value.

As such, we’re removing the Notes and Tags features on the LinkedIn profile, which allowed you to add notes and tags to your connections, to help manage your professional relationships. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you, so please know that you can download this information through March 31, 2017. You’ll find instructions below.

As an active user of Notes and Tags, you will find similar functionality in LinkedIn’s Sales Navigator. To see if Sales Navigator is right for you, we are offering you a free three-month trial*, which will allow you to transfer and view your existing notes and tags. LinkedIn Sales Navigator is a product we launched a couple of years ago and is targeted at sales professionals – it lets you keep track of your existing relationships, research your network, and find new leads with tailored recommendations.

I don’t need a three month subscription to Sales Nav, so I downloaded these Notes and Tags and will keep them handy for reference. You should too..

But even if you never used Notes and Tags, here’s how to download your entire profile, which includes Notes and Tags, as I warned in midNovember you should do as a precaution anyway for the imminent user interface change.

Please take this advice seriously and download your profile asap. Other sections are reported to be chopped too.
About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PSA on the demise of LinkedIn’s Tags and Notes functions, among others

  1. I cannot believe what I am reading. I recently noticed the changes in LinkedIn but have been having ‘a break’ from LI so only just noticed the tags and notes have disappeared. WTF? My whole use of LI was based around tags and the ability to pull up a single connection category – e.g. the ‘In Communication’ category!! Having spent sooo many hours categorising over 1200 connections … well, I don’t even know how to proceed. I am gutted.

  2. Check this LinkedBack Chrome extension at https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/linkedbacktagsnotes-for-l/khndohpgoadmhacgkoknincgfjiipclh, it provides a smart way to add notes/tags to LinkedIn profiles, search and export the tagged profiles too

Leave a Reply

