2016 Redux: 10 Things to Thank #LinkedIn For (part 1)

c2cturkey

I write this every year and update as needed. This is part 1. Tomorrow I’ll add the other 5.

  1. Thanks, LinkedIn, for deciding to finally make the desktop and the smartphone user interface versions look and act alike. I can’t wait for it to be rolled out and to learn its tricks. I know it will cause confusion for my clients as change is sometimes hard to adjust to, but I will be there to help. But first, how about giving me early access?
  2. Thanks for letting me tell others WHY I DO WHAT I DO in my profile headline: a self-expression of why choose me as a potential business partner.  I have stuffed my ever-changing “self” into 120 characters, including spaces.  I have been very economical but still could have used a few more characters, so LinkedIn, perhaps you could loosen this up someday…but thanks anyway.
  3. Thanks, LinkedIn, for allowing selected connections to tell HOW well I do what I do (I have already self-expressed WHY I do what I do). They can recommend me and give anecdotal evidence of the characteristics I want them to reinforce in my profile. I also actively manage and sort out those who endorsed me for a particular skill they do not know I possess. Thanks for giving me control over everything that appears on my profile. Thanks to those who have recommended and/or endorsed me.
  4. Thanks for simplifying edits to my profile page, using the blue pencil icon to re-write or tweak a section that needs clarification or update. Life is a journey and who better to tell my story than me, in the best way I know how?  These enhancements appear as my career progresses.
  5. Thanks, everyone for keeping the discussion on LinkedIn nontoxic and nonpolitical, but let’s cease spreading word games and number puzzles, sexually suggestive photos and any taunting about the result of the presidential election, all of which belong better on Facebook. It’s a credit to my professional community that we have so few breaches of appropriate business conduct in the LinkedIn conversation.
About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

