Trust and its characteristics on your #LinkedIn profile

I came across this graphic again and it’s every bit as relevant now as it was when I first blogged about it more than 2 years ago.

trust

from http://www.tlnt.com/2014/08/05/building-a-strong-team-it-really-takes-an-emphasis-on-trust/

No, I am not speaking about political candidates, although they have a lot to learn from this graphic.

I am speaking to you, and to myself. If we do not come across as trusted, and all its attributes below, we lose the opportunity to make an initial indelible impression.

Story: I recently witnessed two people nearly come to fists at a networking meeting over a stupid verbal interchange. One went even further (and I won’t even discuss it further). Both lost my trust and besmirched their character, so I take issue with all of their virtues that lie underneath Character in the diagram.

And as far as competence, how could I ever consider referring them to a client or colleague?

I did what I had to do. I trusted my instincts and later, my heart and mind. They lost my trust. I severed the LinkedIn connections and they are no longer colleagues. No shades of gray based on what I saw.

So in describing my negative experience, let’s focus on a positive one: look at your LinkedIn profile and determine if your narrative demonstrates why a stranger can become a trusted colleague based on what you say about yourself on LinkedIn (why I do what I do). And what endorsers and recommendations say about you (how you do what you do).

By building your brand using this graphic, you can be in a commanding position, above the competition.

 

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trust and its characteristics on your #LinkedIn profile

  1. anierenberg says:

    Excellent!!

Leave a Reply

