You can control incoming #LinkedIn connection requests

swordWell, this is a two-edged sword: a control to place on your incoming unsolicited connection requests, causing the requester to know your email address in order to invite you.

“Nice!” was my initial impression, but after another few moments’ thought, I wonder: is it?

My email address is all over the place. Yours is too. Is this an adequate control to place on connection requests? can’t they find it online easily? It’s not very limiting or fool-proof IMHO. Perhaps it will weed out some of the unsolicited requests I get every day…And do I really want to make it difficult to connect to me?

Sometimes there’s a person I missed along the way who approaches me and I should have connected to them a long time ago. So why allow an artificial control take command? I can think for myself and evaluate the opportunity.

That said, I still detest receiving blind connection requests for the reasons I articulated a long time ago in this blog.

This twist in my thinking came when I invited someone to connect to me and here’s what I received:

emailaddresslimitonnewconnections

If you still want to do this for yourself, to activate your invitations settings privacy feature, direct from the LinkedIn Help Center, here’s how:

helpcenter_invitesettings

Buyer beware. Not for me but you may like it.

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You can control incoming #LinkedIn connection requests

  1. Corey Bearak says:

    definitely doubled-edged. We discussed off-line my approach to query back why when I apparently lack any direct relationship/ never met the requester/inviter. But requiring the email might prevent mass invite by “marketers” on behalf of a requester/inviter who knows not at all who outreach efforts target. I maintain a larger list of contacts that those I connect with on LinkedIn or Friend on Facebook. There are some I connect with only via one or the other. Google+ is another one altogether; I choose not to work it; others do. Sometimes I may check Facebook in case I am connected to requester/inviter. I have thought about an intern project one day to connect via LinkedIn to most of my contacts. As with any list I argue staying in touch via phone, email, in person as case may be.

Leave a Reply

