How much is my, and your, expertise worth?

Please do not read this as an angry blog post. I just have a point to make.

“Unfortunately, my manager does not pay for speakers/presenters.”

That was the answer to my proposal to speak to a group of real estate professionals to improve their LinkedIn profiles.

Ok I get it–at no cost, the eager expert is happy to come in, and hopes to acquire clients.

My experience is that the real estate pro wants a fast and easy fix, not a series of in-depth 1-to-1 sessions.

I don’t earn my keep on expectations that may or may not come about.

intellectualpropertyA few ironies in this situation:

  • They were introduced to me in a warm email referral by a business pro who also is paid for his expertise and thus, commissions.
  • I did my research: most in the office either had a minimal profile or none at all. Yikes!
  • The agents rely on referrals and reputation to thrive. One competes directly with the other, even in the same office. Times of quiet sales in the market, like we just had (how quickly they forgot), lead to no commissions.
  • Branding and differentiating makes them stand out, in any type of market.
  • I would have prepared a custom presentation on my own time. I offered to present it in their office at their scheduled weekly sales meeting condensing my usual 90 minute session to 20-25 minutes. That’s a challenge.
  • I showed them a glowing recommendation from a realtor I worked with.
  • Any price would have been too high.

That said, when I re-read the email from which I quoted above, I quickly moved on to spend my positive energy on those who seek my expertise and are willing to recognize the worth of it.

And I warmly recalled some really extraordinary cases in which clients paid me if they cancelled on me. Or funded me to gift-teach their relative, with my expertise, based on my reputation.

Again, not bitter. Just had a point to make. 

Which reminds me to suggest you read this article: “No, you can’t pick my brain. It costs too much.”

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How much is my, and your, expertise worth?

  1. Corey Bearak says:

    Kudos to you Marc.
    Always important not to give store away. I sometimes faces prospects who not only want my fee proposal but a detailed strategy (I NEVER give that). I refer prospects to my track record, shared on my website and other media.

Leave a Reply

