#LinkedIn Q&A: please tell me why did he/she endorse me for a skill I don’t have?

Here’s another odd thing about LinkedIn I get a lot of questions on:

Skills you never claim to have appear mysteriously and endorsers are named in updates at the very top on your Profile page. Here’s mine today.

How the heck did they get there? Why them and that particular skill?

pseudoskillendorsement

Well, first don’t worry that they will show on your actual personal profile. They don’t. Whew. Ok let’s analyze this.

One of the great things about LinkedIn is that you have to approve anything from an outsider that appears on your profile. 

A skill you never said you have will never appear there.

Yes, oddball suggested skills do appear on your Profile page and while others may think they are endorsing you for them, only you can place that skill on your profile.

And only you can manage the endorsers. And you must!

Well, what’s going on? I believe that LinkedIn is trying to encourage us to add (mechanically auto-suggested) skills and their nominated endorsers to build the popularity of Skills (as if it is not already wildly-and-out-of-control popular?!).

In the graphic above,

  • I never did, and currently do not, list Marketing as a skill on my profile.
  • Besides, it’s too broad a subject area, not a skill. I use “social media marketing” which is a more specific skill I possess and want to be endorsed for. [BTW-you don’t need to be hampered by the broad skill names that LinkedIn shows: you can rewrite them and refine them easily!]
  • These nominated connections do not necessarily know my skills in “marketing.” I am not sure why LinkedIn chose them…
  • One or more of these nominees may say to themselves, “Hey, I’ll endorse Marc for “marketing.” And with the click of their mouse, I get a message on my Home page that {so-and-so} endorsed me for “marketing.”
  • So what? Since I never show “marketing” on my skill section,. their endorsement goes no where, doesn’t appear anywhere. Poof!
  • Isn’t this absurd?

Bottom line: if you do list a skill, connections can endorse you for it (and you should manage the endorsers by skill line to be sure they REALLY know the skill you have).

Bottom bottom line: if you don’t list a skill, connections can endorse until the cows come home, but it goes no where. Fizzit!

No worries. Ignore it. LinkedIn is unnecessarily (IMHO) creating this confusion.

I hope I shed some light on this.

More on this topic and best practices in managing endorsers (among dozens of other techniques) are covered in my newly released recorded course “Deep Dive Into Linkedin” available here.

 

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #LinkedIn Q&A: please tell me why did he/she endorse me for a skill I don’t have?

  1. Great post Marc! On the client side of LinkIn, I think the skill squares are fed by an hysterical need to participate in social media. Which is why I recommend taking a deep breath, call Marc Halpert, (the real deal go-to guy for this stuff) and get your strategy on.

Leave a Reply

