“I have no time for LinkedIn,” is not an excuse

At a training session the other day I watched the heads nod up and down by nearly everyone in the room except one person. To a speaker and trainer, that’s a good sign.

Engaged and asking questions. Excellent; getting my points across.

One hand went up from the non-head-nodder. “I have no time for this,” he said.

Respectfully, I asked what his role was. Not a salesperson but an inside manager; a by-the-book-type.

That’s ok. You can’t convince everyone in the room all the time, I learned a while ago. And I always expect that type of comment.

I had a slide he had not yet seen about making time for LinkedIn. I asked for a few more minutes until I got to that part and segued my oral discussion towards the need to spend time to differentiate oneself in sales and marketing.LI_timeslide

It’s all about how you look at time spent on a project and expectations for reward.

Land one (hopefully more) contract(s) with an otherwise unknown client(s) via LinkedIn and all the time is worthwhile, IMHO.

The slide, as you see to the left, along with my oral comments, advised the attendees to look creatively and consistently for LinkedIn moments and opportunities to use time well: when you are early to an appointment, commuting on a train, as a place marker between meetings. Or spend a half-hour at the end of the day (or beginning) working your connections, sharing material in updates, congratulating other on achievements, work anniversaries, tweaking any part of your profile. etc.

There you go, you may have just found additional time to invest in your brand on LinkedIn! As much as you can, or feel is warranted.

Different for each of us and varies by day and instances.

How do you make time for LinkedIn?

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Today's LinkedIn Nugget. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I have no time for LinkedIn,” is not an excuse

  1. Pingback: Set a timer. Work on #LinkedIn. Ding. Stop. | Connect2Collaborate

Leave a Reply

