The #LinkedIn forest for the trees

Sometimes you have to plant a forest to get a few good hearty trees. Other times your trees congregate together, magically, as a forest (as in the picture I took of pines in the middle of raw land full of all trees other than pines), self-contained and tight as a community.

And of course2014-07-31 12.31.38 HDR, sometimes you just plain can’t see the forest for the trees.

From real life this week:

I was speaking with a business friend and colleague and she is just so full of ideas, new to the city and has planted her infectious personality all over and just needs to reap the benefits by honing in on her subject market. I gave her some what-seemed-obvious-to-me-advice, and she soaked it in.

I was driving home with 2 networking friends and the gist of all we spoke about the whole ride was how we could each see the other’s situation so clearly and provide sage, beneficial advice, yet not our own. My need to do more “pencil sharpening” is plain as day to them, not quite to me.

So the forest for the trees happens to all of us.

This is not a LinkedIn blog providing daily nuggets unless I offer you this:

  • Rewrite your LinkedIn profile on Word and before you publish to LinkedIn, ask a few friends, confidantes, colleagues to look it over and provide input.
  • The honest and bald question they have to answer for you is: does this revised profile look adequately reflect my value proposition as you know me?
About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

