Press the flesh

meet

I was referred to him by a good colleague whose opinion I respect.

I spoke on the phone to him and had a good feeling that it was worth a face-to-face. It wasn’t all of what he said, but how he said it, and especially how he showed his work.

I will admit I didn’t know what the face-to-face meeting yesterday would accomplish as I had met with quite a few people in the same “space” as him. Those hadn’t amounted to much. Would this be different?

I was in the city anyway, had to go downtown when I was in midtown, but I would do so on the hunch that there was something good there, it just needed exploration.

I was early, he was running late.  We had confused the meeting place. After all, there’s only 1 Starbucks in SOHO, right? Thanks to texts, we found each other.

The rest was meant to be. It was a meeting of minds at a high level, with more and more ways to work together surfacing as we both explained our values and experience. Such a great feeling. Do you get these once in a while?

We both let the meeting run over the allotted time. It was that good. I think we were both late to our next session. Turns out he was about to meet another high quality friend of mine; he let the name slip out and I had to laugh. We run in the same circles too!?! Too good.

So here’s how I did it: I vetted him on the phone, reviewed his work online, met in person, connected on LinkedIn, and now we can let the real fun of networking begin! Connect2collaborate, right? Another example.

About connect2collaborate

LinkedIn coach and evangelist, having a great time pursuing my passion of connecting professionals so they can collaborate more!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

